From City of Hope
|One ally of moderate power|
|Two allies or one more powerful ally|
|Three allies or a combination of more powerful allies|
|Four allies or a combination of more powerful allies|
|Five allies or a combination of more powerful allies|
- The Bitter Road page 113
- Add dice to your Stealth rolls
- Subtract dice from Perception or Investigation rolls against you
- Can be consciously dampened
- Does not apply while you're directly involved in combat or otherwise acting conspicuous
- Can hold Quintessence up to this level without Prime
- Holding more requires Prime 1
- Taking more on your own requires Prime 3
- Can gain Quintessence up to this level by meditating at a node
- Perception + Meditation vs 7 once per hour, gain 1 per success
- Limited by the strength of the node
- Can spend up to this many dots of Quintessence per effect roll
- Guide to the Technocracy pages 179-180
- Guide to the Traditions pages 212-213
- The Bitter Road pages 113-114
- We use the "License to..." merit (Guide to the Technocracy page 165) instead
- Guide to the Traditions page 215
- For every two dots in Chantry (from the members combined), the chantry can have one dot of some other background that's attached to the chantry and collectively available to the members. (Resource contention, if any, is generally weighted by who's contributing more Chantry dots.) A chantry may have additional NPC members and contributions, but this is just background flavor and does not make more stats available to PC members.
- Standard options for attached backgrounds are: Resources (for real estate not reliant on a specific PC), Library, Wonder, Arcane, Destiny, Node, Sanctum (for PCs with similar paradigms), Mentor, Familiar, Allies, Retainers, Totem (for shamans), Cult, Influence, Fame, Status. (We're currently not using adversarial backgrounds.) Other backgrounds are at staff discretion.
- A larger chantry may contain multiple cabals, in which case the Chantry background is counted separately for each cabal.
- Players may have alts join different cabals within the same chantry, but in that case, each alt may only draw on their own cabal's shared backgrounds.
- Players with only one alt in the chantry may draw on another cabal's shared backgrounds, though lower priority than that cabal's members (in case of limited resources such as Nodes).
- A group of Technocrats may form a construct in the same way, using the Construct background in place of Chantry. (The main city Construct has its own resources, but they're mostly allocated to NPCs.)
- Other groups (e.g. vampire coteries, shifter packs, changeling baronies, demon courts) may organize shared backgrounds in the same way, using the Home Base background (name taken from WW6008 but game mechanics still same as above).
- House rule: Maximum 10 contributing PCs per group, except single-clan vampire coteries which can have any number of vampires and ghouls from that clan contribute. ('Contributing' = '1+ dot in Chantry / Construct / Home Base')
- One contact per dot
- When casting a ritual with the entire cult gathered, add one success per dot.
- Guide to the Traditions pages 216-217
- When facing death that goes against your destiny, roll Destiny vs 8 and regain 1 Willpower per success
- Once per day, meditate on a subject
- Roll Perception + Dream to determine the strength of your insight
- Once per day after meditating, on an ability roll pertaining to that subject, substitute Dream for the ability
- Guide to the Technocracy pages 180-182
- The Bitter Road pages 114-115
- Forged by Dragon's Fire
- Guide to the Traditions pages 219-220
|1 Quintessence per week, 1 Tass per month|
|3 Quintessence per week, 2 Tass per month|
|6 Quintessence per week, 3 Tass per month|
|10 Quintessence per week, 5 Tass per month|
|15 Quintessence per week, 8 Tass per month|
- A mage may have access to multiple nodes.
- Large nodes (4+) are limited and subject to staff discretion.
- Guide to the Traditions page 220
- The Bitter Road pages 115-117
- We do not allow this background
- Guide to the Technocracy pages 182-183
- The Bitter Road page 117
- One retainer per dot
- Guide to the Traditions pages 220-222
- All effects following your paradigm are coincidental
- If a normally vulgar effect reaches outside your sanctum (e.g. Correspondence), it suffers Paradox normally, though you do not
- If a normally vulgar effect is cast and then moved outside your sanctum, it erodes quickly
- All effects following a conflicting paradigm are vulgar
- Does not further reduce difficulty
- Each dot provides either size or location-specific Arcane, not both
- Guide to the Technocracy pages 183-184
- Guide to the Technocracy pages 184-185